Upper West Region

Hon. Alhaji Issahaku Salia (Regional Minister)

Hon. Kale Ceasar (Deputy Reg. Minister)

The region covers a geographical area of approximately 18,478 square kilometres. This constitutes about 12.7 per cent of the total land area of Ghana. The region is bordered on the North by the Republic of Burkina Faso, on the East by Upper East Region, on the South by Northern Region and on the West by Cote d’Ivoire.

The total population of the region is 576,583. This represents three per cent of the national population. The population of the region is not evenly distributed among the five districts. Wa has the largest population of 224,066, representing 38.9 per cent of the region’s population, while the remaining districts have about 15.0 per cent each.

Wa municipal is the capital of the 9 districts.

Upper East Region

Hon. Mark Woyongo (Regional Minister)

Hon. Lucy Awuni (Deputy Reg. Minister)

Upper East is located in the north-eastern corner of the country between longitude 00 and 10 West and latitudes 100 30”N and 110N. It is bordered to the north by Burkina Faso, the east by the Republic of Togo, the west by Sissala in Upper West and the south by West Mamprusi in Northern Region. The land is relatively flat with a few hills to the East and southeast. The total land area is about 8,842 sq km, which translates into 2.7 per cent of the total land area of the country.

Bolgatanga is the capital of the 10 districts.

The population of the region is 920,089, which is less than one twentieth (4.9%) of the national population. This however is an increase of 19 per cent over the 1984 figure of 722,744, which is the lowest rate of increase among all the regions in the country.

Northern Region

Hon. Moses Bukari Magbenba (Regional Minister)

The population of the region is 1,820,806, representing 9.6 per cent of the country’s population. This translates into a growth rate of 2.8 per cent over the 1984 population of 1,162,645. This rate of growth is much lower than that of 3.4 per cent recorded between 1970 and 1984.

It has 20 districts with Tamale as its capital.

The Northern Region, which occupies an area of about 70,383 square kilometres, is the largest region in Ghana in terms of land area. It shares boundaries with the Upper East and the Upper West Regions to the north, the Brong Ahafo and the Volta Regions to the south, and two neighbouring countries, the Republic of Togo to the east, and La Cote d’ Ivoire to the west.

The land is mostly low lying except in the north-eastern corner with the Gambaga escarpment and along the western corridor. The region is drained by the Black and white Volta and their tributaries, Rivers Nasia, Daka, etc.

Eastern Region

Hon. Appiah Kubi Akyim ()Regional Minister

Hon. Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi (Deputy Reg. Minister)

The Eastern Region occupies a land area of 19,323 kilometers and constitutes 8.1 per cent of the total land area of Ghana. It is the sixth largest region in terms of land area. It lies between latitudes 6o and 7o North and between longitudes 1o30’ West and 0o30’ East. The region shares common boundaries with the Greater Accra, Central, Ashanti, Brong Ahafo and Volta Regions.

Of the 21 districts in the region, Kwahu South is the most populous, with a population of 217,485 which constitutes 10.3 per cent of the regional population. The least populated district is Asuogyaman, with a population of 75,920 or 3.6 per cent of the region’s population.

It has Koforidua as its capital.

Central Region

Hon. Ama Benyiwa-Doe (Regional Minister)

The Central Region was historically part of the Western Region until 1970 when it was carved out just before the 1970 Population Census. It occupies an area of 9,826 square kilometres or 4.1 per cent of Ghana’s land area, making it the third smallest in area after Greater Accra and Upper East. It shares common boundaries with Western Region on the west, Ashanti and Eastern Regions on the north, and Greater Accra Region on the east. On the south is the 168-kilometre length Atlantic Ocean (Gulf of Guinea) coastline.
The region was the first area in the country to make contact with the Europeans. Its capital, Cape Coast, was also the capital of the Gold Coast until 1877, when the capital was moved to Accra. It was in the castle of Cape Coast that the historic Bond of 1844 was signed between the British and the Fante Confederation.

Brong Ahafo Region

Hon. Nyamekye Marfo (Regional Minister)

Hon. Eric Opoku (Deputy Reg. Minister)

The region, (37.4%) is the fourth most urbanized, coming after Greater Accra (87.7%), Ashanti (51%) and Central (37.5%), Regions.

It shares boundaries with Northern region at the North Eastern and Ashanti region in the South Eastern as well as Volta region in the South West.

Only four districts, Sunyani (73.8%), Techiman (55.7%), Berekum (54.7%) and Tano (43.2%), have levels of urbanization above the regional average, with Sunyani, Berekum and Techiman having much higher proportion of urban than rural population; Sene has the highest proportion of rural population

The level of urbanization is influenced by the growth of some localities in the districts, especially their capital towns. The district capital’s share of the district population for the three most urbanized districts, Sunyani (34.6%), Berekum (42.5%) and Techiman (32.2%), for instance, accounts for more than half or nearly so of the urban population.
It has 22 MMDAs. Sunyani, being the regional capital, has a good infrastructure base, which attracts migrants; Techiman is a major market centre and a nodal town or entrepol, where roads from the three northern regions converge.

Trunk roads from Sunyani, Kumasi, Wa and Tamale all meet at Techiman, thus making it a bustling food crop market and commercial centre. Berekum’s urban nature can be attributed to good infrastructure and concentration of wood processing firms, as well as important educational and health centres. The Berekum Secondary School, Techiman Training College and Holy Family Hospital all serve a large catchment area.